Maurer School of Law Announces Distinguished Alumni Service Award Recipients

(BLOOMINGTON) – The Maurer School of Law at IU Bloomington has announced its 2020 Distinguished Alumni Service Award recipients. The awardees are:

Jay Chaudhary

Jay Chaudhary, director of the Division of Mental Health and Addictions at the Indiana Family and Social Services Administration, Indianapolis.

Sonia Mill-Van Oort

Sonia Miller-Van Oort, founding member and chief manager at Sapientia Law Group PLLC, Minneapolis.

Lisa A. Powell

Lisa A. Powell, partner at Fisher Broyles, Houston.

Alonzo Weems

Alonzo Weems, vice president and deputy general counsel at Eli Lilly and Co., Indianapolis.

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1997 to recognize Maurer School of Law graduates who have distinguished themselves in service to their communities and the school in ways that exceed traditional business, professional and civic duties. Through their hard work, passion and accomplishments, these alumni define the school’s ideals for community service and serve as accomplished role models for law students and the greater community.