Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra presents Strauss, Mozart & Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony

INDIANAPOLIS — Pianist Joyce Yang’s wondrous poetic style is ideally suited for the brooding darkness of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 24. Matthew Halls conducts Strauss’ symphonic poem Don Juan along with Beethoven’s short, spirited, yet compelling Eighth Symphony.

Pianist Joyce Yang

Rounding out the program is Brink by Irish composer Donnacha Dennehy. This work was commissioned by the ISO and it responds to the work of Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony. This will be the world premiere of Brink.

Irish composer Donnacha Dennehy

Dennehy wrote, “One thing that draws me to Beethoven is the way he takes an idea to the brink, the way something initially innocuous can take on more and more ramifications as the work proceeds. During the early days of the pandemic, it also felt as if we were being collectively taken to the brink, especially for those of us living in America. That feeling drives the propulsive forward energy of this work.”

Dennehy will speak before the Friday performance at Words on Music, which begins at 7:10 in the theatre. Admission to Words on Music is included with the ticket.

Buy tickets now by clicking here.

Performances begin at 11 a.m. Thursday, February 2; 8 p.m. Friday, February 3; and 5:30 p.m. Saturday, February 4.

For more information regarding the policies of the Hilbert Circle Theatre, please visit the ISO website.

About Matthew Halls

Mathew Halls

Mathew Halls was named Chief Conductor-designate of Finland’s Tampere Philharmonic in September 2022. He returned to Tampere last fall to conduct Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony, before debuting with the Orchestre de chambre de Paris and Minnesota Orchestra, and continuing long-standing partnerships with the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, Houston Symphony, and Indianapolis Symphony. Read more about Matthew Halls.

About Joyce Yang

Joyce Yang came to international attention in 2005 when she won the silver medal at the 12th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. The youngest contestant at 19 years old, she took home two additional awards: Best Performance of Chamber Music (with the Takàcs Quartet) and Best Performance of a New Work. In 2006 Yang made her celebrated New York Philharmonic debut alongside Lorin Maazel at Avery Fisher Hall along with the orchestra’s tour of Asia, making a triumphant return to her hometown of Seoul, South Korea. Yang’s subsequent appearances with the New York Philharmonic have included the opening night of the 2008 Leonard Berstein Festival—an appearance made at the request of Maazel in his final season as music director. The New York Times pronounced her performance in Bernstein’s The Age of Anxiety a “knockout.” Read more about Joyce Yang.

About the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra

The Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, at home and thriving in the heart of Indianapolis, offers an exceptional artistic and musical experience. The orchestra is open to all and dedicated to creating an inclusive and innovative experiential environment that is inspiring, educational, and welcoming. The ISO celebrates historically beloved performances while engaging audiences by introducing new voices through programming including the DeHaan Classical Series, the Printing Partners Pops Series, the holiday traditions of AES Indiana Yuletide Celebration and the popular Film Series presented by Bank of America. For more information, visit the ISO website.