Scott County Prosecutor Selected to Chair IPAC Board of Directors

INDIANA – Scott County Prosecutor Chris Owens was recently voted in as the new Chairman of the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council Board of Directors during IPAC’s annual Summer Conference.

Chris Owens (left) thanks Brad Landwerlen for his service as IPAC Chair

Owens, the prosecutor in Scott County since 2017, will serve as Chair for the 2022-23 cycle.

Owens spent the last year as Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors. He succeeds Shelby County Prosecutor James ‘Brad’ Landwerlen, who led the Board for the 2021-22 term.

“It’s an honor to be elected to this position by my peers,” Owens said. “There are a lot of important items that the Board will be tackling in the area of public safety and criminal justice in the coming year and I’m confident we’ll be able to meet those challenges.

Joining Owens as officers of the Board are Elkhart County Prosecutor Vicki Becker who was elected Vice-Chair and Monroe County Prosecutor Erika Oliphant who will serve as the Board Secretary. The Board of Directors is composed of 10 elected prosecutors, five Democrats, and five Republicans from across the state.

In addition to the three officers, the following seven prosecutors were also elected to the Board.

  • Andrew Bryson, Union County
  • Daniel Hampton, Kosciusko County
  • Brad Landwerlen, Shelby County
  • Jeremy Mull, Clark County
  • Anthony Quinn, Dubois County
  • Wesley Schemenaur, Jay County
  • Steven Sonnega, Morgan County