The 48th Annual WBIW Lawrence County Spelling Bee is Feb. 22-23

BEDFORD – The 48th WBIW Annual Lawrence County Spelling Bee takes place on Tuesday, February 22, and Wednesday, February 23 at Bedford Middle School Schafer Auditorium.

The Spelling Bee is free to attend and open to the public. Doors open for spectators each day at 4:15 p.m. or you catch the spelling bee live on both days via Facebook live. WBIW has also made the bee available to those that are not able to catch the event at 4 pm. You can listen to the spelling be on WBIW 1340 am or stream it on at 6:30 pm. each day of the bee.

Meryl Klein, of Bedford Middle School, won the 2021 title after completing 12 rounds.

The champion for 2022 will be awarded a $100 cash prize provided by Bedford Federal Savings Bank, a pizza party for their homeroom class provided by Papa Johns Pizza, a t-shirt, and a trophy.

All participants receive a 1340 AM WBIW Spelling Bee t-shirt and a participant certificate.

WBIW’s Marketing Manager Sarah Turpen will moderate this year’s bee. Judges will be President Holly Davis and Director of Sales Brandi Weyer.

Participating in the first day of the spelling bee are the school champions representing grades 3-5:

Representing Dollins Elementary in Oolitic is 4th grader Kane Schmeichel.

Kane Schmeichel

 LCIS champion is Carson Lyons, a 5th grader.

Carson Lyons

Representing Needmore Elementary is 5th grader Aedra Hillenburg.

 Aedra Hillenburg

Carter Hill, a 5th grader will be representing Burris Elementary School.

Carter Hill

Devyn Richardson, a 5th grader is the homeschool champion.

Devyn Richardson

Abigail Chandler, a 5th grader will represent Shawswick Elementary.

Rowan Miller a fifth-grader will represent St. Vincent de Paul Catholic School.

Rowan Miller

Janika Cochrane a 5th grader will represent Lincoln Elementary (photo not available).

On Wednesday, February 23 schools will send their champions for grades 6-8 to compete. Also competing will be the champion from the previous day’s spelling bee.

The school champions representing grades 6-8 are:

The top speller at Bedford Middle School is Gibson “Gibby” Evans, grade 8.

Gibson “Gibby” Evans

Representing Oolitic Middle School is 7th grader Kaegan Hanners

Kaegan Hanners

Representing Needmore Elementary School is Ethan Fulford, grade 6.

Ethan Fulford

Gavin Adams, grade 6, will represent Mitchell Junior High School.

Gavin Adams

Representing St. Vincent de Paul Catholic School is 7th grader Noah Childers.

Noah Childers

Maya Scherschel a 6th grader is the Shawswick Middle School champion.

Maya Scherschel

Gavyn Lemons, an 8th grader will represent LCIS.

Gavyn Lemons

 Paige Voigtschild, a 7th grader is the homeschool champion.

 Paige Voigtschild

Representing Parkview Intermediate is Brett Elpers a 6th grader.

Brett Elpers

6th grader Chloe Collins will represent Lincoln (photo unavailable).