Nominations sought for Statewide Human Resources Award

INDIANA — The Indiana Chamber of Commerce is accepting nominations for the 2022 Ogletree Deakins Human Resources Professional of the Year Award, which will be presented at the 58th Annual Indiana HR Conference, May 4-6 at the Indiana Convention Center.

The award is open to all full-time human resources practitioners in Indiana. Individuals who have made significant contributions to their organization over the past year through the implementation of best practices, organization design and effectiveness, and alignment and accomplishment of the strategic direction of their company are encouraged to apply. Nominees for Ogletree Deakins HR Professional of the Year should also have a proven track record of giving back to the community and the HR profession.

“HR professionals are increasingly expected to administer a multitude of tasks at their respective organizations,” says Indiana Chamber President Kevin Brinegar. “Throw in the challenges of the pandemic and a talent shortage and you have the makings of a very difficult job. We’ll be especially excited to recognize an HR star this year.”

Nominations can be made via self-nomination or by a peer, subordinate, supervisor, or other, but must be accompanied by a sponsorship letter from the nominee’s organization.

The award winner will be announced during the 2022 Human Resources Awards Luncheon on May 6 at the Indiana Convention Center.

Deadline for nominations is March 4. Submissions can be made at Please send direct questions to Jesse Brothers at

Three industry leaders shared the award in 2021: Geoff Gailey, vice president of human resources at Miller Pipeline in Indianapolis; Melissa Hubler, senior manager of human resources at Subaru of Indiana Automotive (SIA) in Lafayette; and Jean C. Neel, vice president of corporate affairs at Haynes International, Inc. in Kokomo.