Announcing candidates for Prosperity Indiana’s 2022 Annual Awards

INDIANA – Top community development leaders and programs across Indiana have been nominated for the prestigious Prosperity Indiana Awards. 

Winners have not been named and will be announced at the annual Prosperity Indiana Summit on February 17, 2022.

The Michael Carroll Community Economic Development Leadership Award, sponsored by First Financial Bank, and co-presented by Prosperity Indiana and the Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority, distinguishes an individual who has exhibited exceptional advocacy to further support the community economic development industry. 


  • Kyle Bach, The Annex Group
  • Janine Betsey, Gene B. Glick Company
  • Stephen Camilleri, The Center for the Homeless
  • Moira Carlstedt, Indianapolis Neighborhood Housing Partnership
  • Robin Hilber, City of Columbus – Department of Community Development
  • Denise Koebcke, The Caring Place
  • Marco J. Mariani, South Bend Heritage Foundation
  • Matt Meyers, Bartholomew County Sheriff
  • Richard Proctor III, Indy Gateway

The John Niederman Rural Development Leadership Award, presented by Fifth Third Bank, is designed to celebrate outstanding leaders in the field of rural community economic development.


  • Kyle Bach, The Annex Group
  • Bo Beaulieu, Purdue University
  • G. Dean Byers, Habitat for Humanity of Marshall County
  • Eric A. Frey, II, Southern Indiana Housing and Community Development Corporation (SIHCDC)
  • Anna Schoon, Northwest Indiana Community Action

The Robert O. Zdenek Staff Member of the Year Award, presented by Brightpoint, recognizes the outstanding professional leadership and commitment of a staff person working for a community economic development organization.


  • Erin Emerson, Perry County Development Corporation
  • Rob Evans, Indianapolis Neighborhood Housing Partnership
  • Nicholas Hunot, Renew Indianapolis
  • Pablo Malavenda, Lafayette Urban Ministry
  • Natalie Powell, Hoosier Uplands EDC
  • Aaron Roberts, Ivy Tech-Indianapolis/Noblesville
  • Anna Schoon, Northwest Indiana Community Action

The Key Award for Supportive Services Program of the Year, presented by Merchants Bank of Indiana, honors excellence and innovation in a service-oriented (non-construction) community development initiative. 


  • Embedded Police Social Worker Program with the Bloomington Police Department
  • Eviction Prevention Program with the Homeless Coalition of Southern Indiana
  • Fort Wayne Cares-Emergency Rental Assistance Program with the City of Fort Wayne, Indiana Legal Services, Just Neighbors, Brightpoint, Catholic Charities, and Lutheran Social Services
  • Permanent Support Housing with Horizon House
  • Prevent Pricks with ShipHappens

The 2022 Prosperity Indiana Summit is open to the public and centered on building relationships and an equitable economy through policy, programs, performance, and philanthropic investments. If you would like to attend the virtual event on February 17, 2022, please register at