Public forum will consider improving digital resources in rural communities

INDIANA — Purdue University, in partnership with the Future of Tech Commission, will host a virtual public forum on Wednesday for discussion on improving access to digital resources for rural communities. The public is invited to join the session, which will inform a set of recommendations on sustainable, inclusive and bipartisan tech policies to be presented to the White House. 

Indiana Future of Tech Commission Town Hall graphic

The forum is part of the Future of Tech Commission’s national town hall tour to gather expert and public input on making technology safe, equitable and trustworthy. Centering on federal and state policies and public-private partnerships, the discussion will focus on equitable access to broadband, digital solutions to sustainable agriculture practices, and adapting to economic opportunities in a digital market and workplace.

Opening speakers:

  • Margaret Spellings, co-commissioner, Future of Tech Commission.


  • Roberto Gallardo, director, Purdue Center for Regional Development.


  • Mung Chiang, Purdue’s executive vice president for strategic initiatives and the John A. Edwardson Dean of the College of Engineering.
  • Jason Henderson, director, Purdue Extension.
  • Lisa Abbott, vice president of economic and community development, Regional Opportunity Initiative.
  • Matt Crouch, deputy director, Indiana Office of Community Affairs.
  • Earnie Holtrey, project manager, Indiana Broadband Office.
  • Lee Lewellen, president, and CEO, Indiana Economic Development Association.
  • Tony London, commissioner, Bartholomew County.
  • Mike Perleberg, executive director, One Dearborn Inc.
  • Jeff Plasterer, executive director, Eastern Indiana Regional Planning Council.
  • Carol Yeend, co-chair, Rush County Broadband Task Force.