46th Annual Lawrence County Spelling Bee Begins Monday

(BEDFORD) – The 46th Annual Lawrence County Spelling Bee, presented by Ivy Tech Community College of Bedford, takes place Monday and Tuesday at Bedford Middle School Schafer Auditorium.

The Spelling Bee is free to attend and open to the public. Doors open for spectators at 4:30 p.m.

Members of Ad-Venture Media, Inc. will help administer the event. The moderator of the event is Marketing Manager Sarah Turpen. Judges will be President Holly Davis, Super Oldies Radio Personality Sean Duncan, and Sales Representative Brandi Weyer.

spelling bee-thumb-250xauto-3379-thumb-250xauto-3512.jpg

If you can’t attend the event, you can listen to a playback of the competition on the airwaves of 1340 AM WBIW or streaming online at WBIW.com and on Facebook both days at 6:30 p.m.

Each elementary school in Lawrence County will send their school champion to compete Monday. This first day of the spelling bee will determine the Elementary School Champion for Lawrence County.

Then on Tuesday, all of the Middle Schools in the county will send their school champion to compete. Also competing will be the elementary school champion.

The winner of this final round will be named the 2019 Lawrence County Spelling Bee Champion and they will have the opportunity to move on to the 2020 Ford Motor Company Kentucky Derby Festival Spelling Bee on Saturday, March 14th at the Bomhard Theater at the Kentucky Center for the Arts. The competition will begin at 10 a.m.

All participants receive a 1340 AM WBIW Spelling Bee t-shirt and a certificate. The top three contestants representing Lawrence County will also receive a bee bobble-head trophy. The overall Spelling Bee Champion will receive a $100 cash prize provided by Bedford Federal Savings Bank.

The Ford Motor Company Spelling Bee showcases Kentucky and Southern Indiana’s top spellers in a suspenseful competition that leaves only one standing. The top five finishers receive savings bonds from the Kentucky Derby Festival Foundation, while the overall champion gets to ride on the Winner’s Float in the Republic Bank Pegasus® Parade.