Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Applications Available for Greene County Students

(GREENE CO.) – The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship for the class of 2020 application process is now open in Greene County.

The scholarship will be available to high school seniors, graduating in 2020, from any Greene County high school or residing in Greene County.

Applications must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on Friday, September 13.

The application will be available online at the Greene County Foundation website,

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship program offers a four-year, full-tuition scholarship to a Greene County student who intends to work toward a baccalaureate degree at any accredited public or private college or university in Indiana.  The scholarship also provides $900 per year for required books and equipment.

To be eligible to apply, students must attend a Greene County, Indiana high school and/or reside in Greene County, Indiana; students must be on track to receive their high school diploma no later than June 30, 2020; students must be planning to attend a college or university in the state of Indiana.

Applications will require the following information:

  • Leadership in School Activities
  • Volunteer Community Activities
  • Transcript with GPA and Class Rank
  • Employment/Work History
  • Professional Resume
  • Letters of Recommendation
  • Two essays
  • Academic Performance
  • An Interview, if Selected as a Finalist

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship program is administered in Greene County by the Greene County Foundation in partnership with Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI).  ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in Indiana.  The scholarship is the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education.  Indiana ranks among the lowest states in percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. Visit for more information about Independent Colleges of Indiana.

Past Greene County Lilly Scholar Winners:

  • 1998 — Brad Crites, Eastern Greene
  • 1999 — Clint Kaho, White River Valley, and Rachel Steward, White River Valley
  • 2000 — Sarah Flinn, Bloomfield and Rod Walker, Linton
  • 2001 — Morgan May and Drew Landry of Shakamak and Emilee Preble of Linton-Stockton
  • 2002 — Tyler Blakley, Bloomfield, Heather Lee Crowe, Eastern Greene, and Nadine Kristin Keitel, White River Valley
  • 2003 — Emily Hayes, Shakamak, Justin King, Eastern Greene, and Sarah Church, Linton-Stockton
  • 2004 — Brittany Parkes, Bloomfield, Christina Catt, White River Valley, and Tiffany Rae Todd, Linton-Stockton
  • 2005 — Brandt Zimmerly, White River Valley, and Bessy Lyons, Eastern Greene
  • 2006 — Chantal Fink, Bloomfield, and Lindsey Sipes, White River Valley
  • 2007 — Laura Beth Correll, Linton-Stockton and Kevin Cross, White River Valley; Matthew J. Wall, who attended White River Valley High, but lived in rural Coal City, received a Lilly Scholarship from the Owen County Foundation
  • 2008 — Andrew Brown, Bloomfield, and Carly Johnson, White River Valley
  • 2009 — John Alexander Cochrane, Bloomfield, and Micajah Green, Shakamak
  • 2010 — Derek Corn, Bloomfield and Grace Anne Hayes, White River Valley
  • 2011 — Seth Herndon, Linton-Stockton
  • 2012 — Jacie Anderson, Eastern Greene
  • 2013 — Casey Reynolds, Shakamak
  • 2014 — Alex Bartlow, Bloomfield
  • 2015 — Lilly Southern, Eastern Greene
  • 2016 — Emma Brewer, Linton-Stockton
  • 2017 — Abby Denham, White River Valley
  • 2018 — Jordyn Kieft, Eastern Greene
  • 2019 — Evan Cruse, Shakamak