Needmore team wins state robotics championship, NLCS teams qualify for world championship event

INDIANAPOLIS – Robotics teams from Needmore Elementary School and Bedford Middle School traveled to Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis over the weekend to compete in the Indiana VEX Robotics State Championship, where Needmore Team E were crowned state champions in the Alliance category.

The Needmore Robo-Toppers

Needmore brought three teams to the event, all of which placed high enough in competitions against 130 other elementary school teams to qualify for the VEX Robotics World Championship in Dallas, TX.

Robo-Toppers Team F finished third in the Teamwork Challenge and fourth in the Robot Skills Challenge qualifying them to qualify for worlds.

Robo-Toppers Team G finished 12th in the Teamwork Challenge on their way to winning the THINK Award, qualifying them for worlds.

Bedford Middle School also had two teams qualify for the world championship, who competed against 100 other middle school teams.

Bedford Middle School Robotics

BMS Team A finished in second place in the Teamwork Challenge and 11th place in the Robot Skills Challenge to earn their spot.

BMS Team B solidified their place at worlds after taking 5th place in the Robot Skills Challenge.

Booster club seeking donations

With five teams from the district qualified for the event in Dallas, which begins on April 25, the NLCS Robotics Booster Club is seeking donations to help fund their trips.

NLCS will cover the entry costs for one team, leaving the boosters still seeking donations to send the remaining four teams. Those donations will cover the remaining entry fees, travel, boarding and food.

In total, boosters are looking to raise around $29,000.

Donations can be made through PayPal or their the booster club’s Facebook page.

Anyone who could like to donate via check can email the club at


Bedford Middle School

Team A

  • Saeben Arce
  • Blake Beeson
  • Nathan Tomlin

Team B

  • Lane Shelton
  • Jeff Trojan
  • Cutler Chastain

Needmore Elementary School


  • Liam Arce
  • Lincoln Blevens
  • Lonnie Gonzales
  • Archer Tomlin


  • Leo Mayer
  • Will Thompson


  • Hunter Chastain
  • Liam Johnson
  • Jay Mayer
  • Nate Webb