Fish of the Year award winners for 2022 include local anglers

INDIANA – Each year anglers from around the state submit their biggest catches from Indiana waters hoping they will top the list for their species.

Winning entries for Fish of the Year are determined by the total length of the fish. Participants are required to submit information about their fish, including where they caught it and the bait they used. They must also include a photo documenting the measured length of the fish.

In 2022, 71 anglers submitted entries for 55 different species. Submissions included numerous entries for popular species such as largemouth bass, rainbow trout, and bluegill. Several lesser-known species also received submissions, including emerald shiner, golden shiner, and mottled sculpin.

The top winners in our area include:

Northern Hogsucker15.5White River (Lawrence)Ron Anderson
Hybrid Sunfish12.0Private Pond (Dubois)Sam Sermersheim
Black Crappie16.0Elk Creek Lake (Washington)Ray Bateman

Saugeye23.0Sullivan Lake (Sullivan)Wayne Witkowski
Rainbow Trout (tie)19.0Strip Pit (Greene)Steven Kellett
Golden Shiner10.3Airline Lake (Greene)Travis Rowe
Longnose Gar56.0Aikman Creek (Daviess)Hayden Baker
Shortnose Gar28.0White River (Greene)Jeffrey Kellett

To view the full list of winners and learn more about how to participate in the Fish of the Year program, visit