Purdue accepting nominations for 2021 Hovde Award

WEST LAFAYETTE – Purdue University is accepting nominations for the 2021 Frederick L. Hovde Award of Excellence, which is given annually to a Purdue faculty or staff member who has displayed outstanding educational service to rural Indiana.

Any active member of Purdue’s faculty and staff, including field staff, is eligible for the award. Nominees can serve any college, school, division, or unit, whether at the West Lafayette or regional campus. The recipient will receive an $800 cash prize and plaque. 

Dean of the College of Agriculture Karen Plaut (Purdue University/ Mark Simons)

“Rural communities are the bedrock of our state,” said Karen Plaut, chair of the Hovde Award committee, and Glenn W. Sample Dean of Purdue Agriculture. “We are grateful to the Indiana Farm Bureau for sponsoring this award since 1972 to recognize contributions to these communities.”

The nomination deadline is noon ET on Sept. 1. Nomination packets should be sent to Rebeka Frakes via email to rhersked@purdue.edu or by fax to 765-494-7420. Additional information is available by contacting Frakes by email.

At least one – and no more than five – one-page letters of support must accompany the nomination form. Nomination forms and guidelines are available here.

Mark Russell, professor and head of the Department of Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication, won the award in 2020.

Information: Emma Ea Ambrose, eeambros@purdue.edu

Sources: Rebeka Frakes, rhersked@purdue.edu and Karen Plaut, kplaut@purdue.edu