Local Athletes Compete in Digital Media High School Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships

(UNDATED) – Organizers for the American Family Insurance High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships today announced that the final contestants at this year’s event will be determined by a public online voting contest.

Participating locally are Irye Gomez and Chloe McKnight from Bedford and Silas Bauer, of Loogootee,

The American Family Insurance “#DreamFearlessly Fan Vote” is a four-week digital media contest that will match up 16 of the top high school dunkers, boys 3-point shooters and girls 3-point shooters in the nation in a bracket-style competition to determine the final participant in the Slam Dunk Championship, Boys’ 3-Point Championship and Girls’ 3-point Championship. Fans can vote for their favorite players using an interactive bracket by entering the American Family Insurance High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships website at www.amfam.com/fanvote. The athlete with the most votes in each matchup will move on to the next round.

“Congratulations to these talented athletes who epitomize what it means to dream fearlessly by working hard every day to reach their goals and committing to becoming the best they can be,” said Judd Schemmel, American Family Insurance associate vice president of community investment and partnerships. “American Family is pleased to provide a way for family, friends and fans to support their favorite players through the #DreamFearlessly Fan Vote. Good luck to all these inspiring student-athletes.”

Video highlight reels of each competitor on the web site will help fans determine their choice. Voting begins Monday, Feb. 15 at 1 p.m. ET and concludes Thursday, March 18 at 1 p.m. ET. Fans can vote daily at www.amfam.com/fanvote. The schedule for each voting round will go as follows:

Round One: Feb. 15 at 1 p.m. ET through Feb. 22 at 1 p.m. ET (16 Players)

Quarterfinals: Feb. 23 at 1 p.m. ET through March 2 at 1 p.m. ET (8 Players)

Semifinals: March 3 at 1 p.m. ET through March 10 at 1 p.m. ET (4 Players)

Finals: March 11 at 1 p.m. ET through March 18 at 1 p.m. ET (2 Players)

The player that ultimately receives the most votes in the final round will be selected to compete in the American Family Insurance High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, an event featuring some of the best high school dunkers and three-point shooters in the country, held annually in the host city of college basketball’s national title game.

Complete brackets with matchup details can be found on www.amfam.com/fanvote. The following are the 16 “Fearless Dreamers” competing in each contest for their chance to showcase their talents in the American Family Insurance High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships:

Slam Dunk Championship (High School, City)

  • Silas Bauer (Loogootee, Loogootee, Ind.)
  • DJ Avery (Dohn Prep Academy, Cincinnati, Ohio)
  • Brooks Barnhizer (Lafayette Jefferson, Lafayette, Ind.)
  • Ben Burnham (Carmel Christian, Charlotte, N.C.)
  • Isaiah Broady (AZ Compass Prep, Chandler, Ariz.)
  • Luke Easley (Beth Haven, Louisville, Ky.)
  • Gus Etchison (Hamilton Heights, Arcadia, Ind.)
  • Omari Grant (Luella, Luella, Ga.)
  • Ridge Harrison (Hatton, Town Creek, Ala.)
  • Nate Johnson (Lakota East, Middletown, Ohio)
  • Harrison Kelly (Christian Brothers, Memphis, Tenn.)
  • Tyler Kindberg (Worthington Christian, Lewis Center, Ohio)
  • Marlon Lewis (Havre de Grace, Havre de Grace, Mary.)
  • Davion Mace (Dohn Prep Academy, Cincinnati, Ohio)
  • Jackson Paul (Churubusco, Churubusco, Ind.)
  • Najee Williams (Truman, Kansas City, Mo.)

Boys’ 3-Point Championship (High School, City)

  • Braeden Ball (East Noble, Kendalville, Ind.)
  • Trey Baker (Mundelein, Mundelein, Ill.)
  • Seth Brooks (Kokomo, Kokomo, Ind.)
  • Luke Brown (Blackford, Hartford City, Ind.)
  • Aidan Cannon (Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter, Indianapolis, Ind.)
  • Austin Farlow (Centerville, Centerville, Ind.)
  • Jordan Fenderson (Chicago Hope Academy, Chicago, Ill.)
  • Cooper George (Savannah Christian, Savannah, Ga.)
  • Miles Guliford (Liberty, Peoria, Ariz.)
  • Luke Goode (Homestead, Fort Wayne, Ind.)
  • Michael Jefferson (Dohn Prep Academy, Cincinnati, Ohio)
  • Jordan Jones (First Presbyterian Day School, Macon, Ga.)
  • Jocqua Keeton (Luella, Locust Grove, Ga.)
  • Cal Reghi (Westlake, Westlake, Ohio)
  • Brody Whitaker (Greencastle, Greencastle, Ind.)
  • Jaxon Wolf (Ola, McDonough, Ga.)

Girls’ 3-Point Championship (High School, City)

  • Irye Gomez (Bedford North Lawrence, Bedford, Ind.)
  • Chloe McKnight (Bedford North Lawrence, Bedford, Ind.)
  • Ally Becki (Brownsburg, Brownsburg, Ind.)
  • Makaiya Brooks (Central, Springfield, Mo.)
  • Averi Davidson (North Central, Farmersburg, Ind.)
  • Makenna DeClue (Troy-Buchanan, Troy, Mo.)
  • Lilliann Frasure (North Judson-San Pierre, North Judson, Ind)
  • Brooke Hartman (Speedway, Speedway Ind.)
  • Julia Hirt (Lake County Lutheran, Hartland, Wis.)
  • Emily Lavier (Alamosa, Alamosa, Colo.)
  • Cati LeVan (Triad, North Lewisburg, Ohio)
  • Arora Levengood (Tuscarawas Valley, Zoarville, Ohio)
  • Brooklyn Luna (Fair Grove, Fair Grove, Mo.)
  • Brooklyn Stubblefield (Greenwood Christian Academy, Greenwood, Ind.)
  • Aliyah Williams (Parkway North, St. Louis, Mo.)
  • Mary Wilson (Center Grove, Greenwood, Ind.)

Alumni of the event include the Sacramento Kings’ Buddy Hield (2012 3-Point), the Washington Mystics’ Ariel Atkins (2014 3-Point), the Memphis Grizzlies’ Grayson Allen (2014 Slam Dunk), the Seattle Storm’s Jordin Canada (2014 3-Point), the Utah Jazz’s Donovan Mitchell (2015 Slam Dunk), the Orlando Magic’s Markelle Fultz (2016 Slam Dunk), the Atlanta Hawks’ Trae Young (2017 3-Point) and the Cleveland Cavaliers’ Collin Sexton (2017 3-Point).

Event organizers are regularly monitoring developments regarding the COVID-19 pandemic and will implement safety measures based on prevailing guidelines from local authorities and national health entities.

For more information about the American Family Insurance High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships click here, or like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter (@HighSchoolSlam).