Schreck is District 8 Conservation Officer of the Year in Harrison County

(HARRISON CO.) – Indiana Conservation Officer James Schreck has been selected as the 2020 District 8 Officer of the Year.

Schreck is assigned Harrison County, and has been a conservation officer for 17 years.

In addition to his normal duties as a field officer, he has also served as a K-9 handler, cave rescue team member, public relations officer, field training officer, taser instructor, and use of force instructor.

District 8 includes Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Jackson, Lawrence, Orange, Perry, Scott, and Washington counties in south-central Indiana.

The district award puts Schreck in the running for the Pitzer Award, which is given to the top overall conservation officer in Indiana and is selected from the 10 district award winners.

The award is named for Master Officer James D. Pitzer, who was fatally shot while investigating illegal hunting activity on January 2, 1961 in Jay County.