State Rep. Chris May Selected To Vice-Chair Of Local Government Committee

(UNDATED) – State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) was recently appointed as vice-chair of the House Local Government Committee.

State Rep. Chris May

As vice chair, May said he will use his experience as a former three-term Lawrence County commissioner, as well as serving on numerous county boards, to help guide him as he examines state policies impacting Hoosier communities.

“The pandemic has reinforced the state’s commitment to working alongside local leaders to help Hoosiers,” May said. “Our communities require flexibility to ensure everyone has a seat at the table so Indiana will not just recover faster from this public health emergency, but come back better than before.”

Last year as a member of the House Local Government Committee, May authored a law allowing rural communities to enter into regional land banks to acquire tax-delinquent and vacant properties for restoration. This would encourage new economic activity while restoring damaged homes and sustaining property values.

May was also reappointed to the House Veterans Affairs and Public Safety Committee, and appointed to the House Natural Resources Committee.

House standing committees will meet throughout the legislative session, which is scheduled to kick off Jan. 4.

Access committee hearings, calendars, and agendas online at Visit or click here for the full list of House standing committee appointments.

State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of Brown County, most of Lawrence County, and parts of Monroe, Jackson, and Johnson counties.