Nominating Commission Names 5 Finalists For St. Joseph County Judicial Position

(ST. JOSEPH) – The St. Joseph Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission announced five nominees to fill an upcoming judicial vacancy. The Commission selected the following nominees:

  • Magistrate Andre Gammage
  • Magistrate Elizabeth Hardtke
  • Jeffrey Kimmell
  • Stephanie Nemeth
  • Stephanie Steele

The five nominees will be submitted to Governor Eric Holcomb for consideration. He will name a Superior Court judge. Under state law, the Commission must submit to the governor a list of five candidates with written evaluations of each candidate. Upon receiving the list of nominees, Governor Holcomb has 60 days in which to make an appointment to the St. Joseph Superior Court.

vacancy on the St. Joseph Superior Court will occur in January 2021 when Judge Jane Woodward Miller retires. In July, the Commission announced applications for the position would be accepted until August 21. The Commission’s interviews of the applicants and applicant names are confidential according to statute. On September 23, the Commission interviewed candidates, and then met in executive session to deliberate and select five finalists.

The Commission consists of six members including Charles W. Lahey, Charles Leone, Douglas Sakaguchi, Karen Barnett, Joseph Grabill, and Professor David Anderson Hooker. It is chaired by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Christopher Goff.