Nominating Commission Names 3 Finalists For Allen County Judicial Position

(ALLEN CO.) – The Allen Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission announced three nominees to fill an upcoming judicial vacancy.

The Commission selected the following nominees:

  • Magistrate Steven Godfrey
  • Magistrate Samuel Keirns
  • Andrew Teel

The three nominees will be submitted to Governor Eric Holcomb for consideration. He will name a Superior Court judge. Under state law, the Commission must submit to the governor a list of three candidates with written evaluations of each candidate.

Upon receiving the list of nominees, Governor Holcomb has 60 days in which to make an appointment to the Allen Superior Court.

vacancy on the Allen Superior Court will occur in January 2021.

In July, the Commission announced applications for the position would be accepted until August 21. Five applicants submitted their names for consideration.

On August 31, the Commission publicly interviewed five candidates, and then met in executive session to deliberate and select three finalists.

The Commission was established by the Indiana General Assembly in 1983. It consists of six members including Ben Eisbart, Robert Kruger, Angie Moellering, Dan Palmer, Linda Polley, and Mark Terrell. It is chaired by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steve David.