FEMA Selects Teens From Illinois And Indiana To The 2020 National Youth Preparedness Council

(CHICAGO) – Last week, FEMA announced the 2020–2021 Youth Preparedness Council members.

FEMA selected Devangana Rana of Urbana, Illinois, and Vishnu Iyer of Zionsville, Indiana from FEMA Region 5 along with five other new members to join the returning council members.

Council members were selected based on their dedication to public service, community involvement and potential to expand their impact as national supporters for youth preparedness.

“We’re proud to have two representatives from Region 5 chosen for this year’s Youth Preparedness Council,” said FEMA Region 5 Administrator James K. Joseph. “Young people engaged in our nation’s disaster preparedness today will be the emergency management leaders of tomorrow.”

FEMA created the council in 2012 to bring together young leaders from across the country who are interested in supporting disaster preparedness nationally and locally. The council is made up of 15 members from grades eight through 11 representing 13 states and territories.

The council supports FEMA’s commitment to building a culture of preparedness in the United States. The council provides an avenue to engage young people by considering their perspectives, feedback, and opinions. Council members meet with FEMA staff throughout their term to provide input on strategies, initiatives, and projects.

To learn more about FEMA’s Youth Preparedness Council, visit: www.ready.gov/youth-preparedness-council.