Local Residents Form Lawrence County Independent Schools


(LAWRENCE CO.) – Local residents have formed the Lawrence County Independent Schools following the North Lawrence Community Schools Corporation vote to consolidate.

According to Albert Cross, a group of local residents toured several charter schools around the state to see how their schools got started and operated. Those included schools in Dugger, Graysville, and Pike County. Organizers also talked with a charter school in Rush County.

“The decision by the North Lawrence Community Schools has already been made. However, in the State of Indiana, the choices for education and school choice remain with the parents,” said Cross.

“Following any consolidation over the years in Lawrence County, you look at the communities of Huron, Tunnelton, and Williams and you see what a negative effect it had on those communities,” added Cross.

“We hope to keep the sense of rural community alive, especially after the fire that destroyed at the old Springville gym. We want to keep our community alive and keep our local school operating,” said Cross.

After visiting the charter schools, the group approached Perry Township Trustee Bob Phillips and the advisory board to see if they were interested in trying to acquire the Springville School.

Perry Township Trustee Bob Phillips and his advisory board are working to acquire Springville Elementary School

“Perry Township Trustee Bob Phillips and the advisory board took their time in making that decision. And they finally agreed to help us with acquiring the Springville Elementary School,” explained Cross.

Fayetteville and Springville are unique in that the two schools came from township property and the school corporation must first offer the property back to the township.

At this time, the Indian Creek Township Trustee has not expressed interest in trying to acquiring the school property, according to Cross.

Springville Elementary School sits on township property

Springville Elementary school sits in the middle of both Indian Creek and Marshall Townships with an increasing population between Oolitic and Bloomington.

According to the 2010 U.S. Census, the population is between 2,700-2,800 in Indian Creek Township, between 4,600-4,700 in Marshall Township, and between 2,300-2,400 in Perry Township.

The newly formed school has a board of directors of nine people with Albert Cross serving as Chairman of the Board. The board members are from Indian Creek, Perry, and Spice Valley North townships.

Lawrence County Independent Schools released the following press release:

“Lawrence County Independent Schools is a state-authorized, not-for-profit organization which came into being in March of 2020 with the stated purpose of providing public education options for students in northwestern Lawrence County, as well as any other area student looking for additional choices in education.

Lawrence County Independent Schools is working with Perry Township to obtain access to the former Springville Elementary School building and open a K-8 elementary and middle school in the fall of 2021.

The group had hoped to open this fall to provide a seamless transition for those students whose schools were closing this year, but necessary approvals were delayed by the coronavirus crisis, forcing a delay in opening.

The mission of Lawrence County Independent Schools is to inspire each student to reach his or her greatest potential personally and academically in a peaceful rural school learning environment by providing a challenging and life-focused curriculum.

Students enrolled in Lawrence County Independent Schools will develop essential life-long skills, critical thinking skills, character building skills, and knowledge to ensure that they will be adequately prepared to achieve success in high school and in an ever-advancing global society.

Lawrence County Independent Schools can be found on Facebook; postal inquiries may be submitted to P.O. Box 27 Springville, Indiana 47462. For more information contact Lawrence County Independent Schools at info@lcis.education.