Indiana State Police Bloomington Post Celebrates Public Safety Telecommunicator Week

(BLOOMINGTON) – The Indiana State Police express a combined thanks and appreciation to all public safety dispatchers in Indiana this week during “Public Safety Telecommunicator Week”

In 1991 Congress proclaimed the second full week in April to be National Public Safety Telecommunications Week to recognize the importance of those special individuals who coordinate the efforts of police, fire, and EMS workers.

Indiana has recognized this week since 1999.

Telecommunications operators are the unsung heroes of public safety. They operate 24 hours a day, seven days a week. These are the men and women who collect the initial information and pass it along to the first responders in the field. Often they are able to give immediate lifesaving directions to the caller during medical emergencies or can be the calming voice to reassure the victim of a violent crime that help is on the way.

All Indiana State Police Telecommunications Operators must pass a written test, a typing test, appear before an interview board, and go through a background investigation before being hired. Once employed they must endure several weeks of training and continuous in-service training throughout their careers to maintain certifications on the latest communications technology and procedures.

Telecommunications Operators working from Regional Dispatch Center III at the Bloomington State Police Post, are responsible for dispatching troopers working in 19 counties across central Indiana that include the Bloomington, Jasper and Evansville Posts.

A huge thanks to all the dispatchers and supervisory staff at the Bloomington Regional Dispatch Center for all you do!

Region III Telecommunications Operators;

Regional Manager – Kathryn Haley
Regional Shift Supervisor – Leesa Slover
Regional Shift Supervisor – Paula Summitt
Regional Shift Supervisor – Tonya Beck
Regional Dispatcher – Lloyd “Scott” Wilkerson
Regional Dispatcher – Tracy Young
Regional Dispatcher – Hunter Sanders
Regional Dispatcher – Taylor Howell
Regional Dispatcher – Tyler Williams
Regional Dispatcher – Bailey Fears
Regional Dispatcher – Shelby Brown
Regional Dispatcher – Shelbie Johnston
Regional Dispatcher – Aleysia Nix