Incoming Elected Officials Sworn Into Office

(BEDFORD) – Several incoming elected officials were sworn in by Lawrence County Circuit Judge Nathan Nikirk on Friday afternoon.

Bedford Mayor-Elect Sam Craig

The courthouse was packed with family members and well-wishers from throughout Lawrence County who came to watch the event.

Several attended today’s swearing-in ceremonies at Lawrence County Circuit Court

The first officials to be sworn in were Mitchell Mayor J.D. England, Clerk-Treasurer Mark Byrant, and Mitchell City Council members Larry Caudell District 1, Nathan Jenkins District 2, Perry Reynolds District 3, Daniel Talbott District 4, and George James At-Large.

Mitchell officials taking the oath of office.

The Oolitic officials were sworn in next. This group included Jessica Staggs as Oolitic Clerk-Treasurer, and Town Council members Johnny Bob Dillon, Dirk Sears, Tangie Jenkins, and Bill Kendall. Town Councilmember Phil Hensley will be sworn in at a later time by Clerk-Treasurer Jessica Staggs.

Oolitic Town officials taking the oath of office.

Bedford City officials taking the oath of office included Mayor-Elect Sam Craig, Clerk-Treasurer Marsha Pfeiffer, Ryan Griffith District 1, Larry Hardman District 2, Brad Bough District 3, Judy Carlisle District 4, Penny May District 5, Dan Bortner and Angel Hawkins holding the At- Large seats.

Bedford City officials taking the oath of office.

Jeff Lytton was sworn in as Lawrence County Councilman for District 4 after being appointed to the office during a caucus vote.

Jeff Lytton sworn in as Lawrence County District 4 Councilman
Mitchell Mayor J.D. England