Two Oakland City University Alumni to be Inducted in Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame

(OAKLAND CITY) – Oakland City University is proud to acknowledge two of our alumni who are being inducted on March 25, 2020, into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

Jerry Reynolds

Jerry Reynolds

Jerry Reynolds received his Bachelor of Science degree in Social Studies from then Oakland City College in 1966. During his senior year, he coached the 1965-66 freshman team. 

He has led a notable career in high school, college and professional basketball.  A two-time honorable mention all-state player at Springs Valley High School, he was a member of teams at Vincennes University that was 51-14 over two seasons. 

His coaching career continued at Vincennes, where he was an assistant from 1966-1971, including their 1970 NJCAA National Championship season and where he recruited future NBA players Bob McAdoo, “Foots” Walker and Ricky Green. 

As an assistant at West Georgia College, he was a member of their 1974 NAIA National Championship coaching staff.  In 10 years as the head coach at Rockhurst University and Pittsburg State University produced 192 wins and four District Coach of the Year honors. 

The longest tenured employee in Sacramento Kings history, his now 35-year career began as the franchise relocated from Kansas City in 1985 and has included the roles of head coach, assistant coach, scout, director of player personnel, general manager and television analyst. 

His influence is also noted as the first general manager of the WNBA Sacramento Monarchs, earning his name in the rafters for his impact on that franchise.  He was also a member of the 2004 U.S. Women’s Olympic Team Selection Committee that won the gold medal. 

He resides in Roseville, California.

Ray Roesner

Ray Roesner

The late Ray Roesner graduated from then Oakland City College in 1957 with a BSE degree in Physical Education, History and Geography.  He was also named Mr. Basketball in 1956.

His career reaped accolades as a high school and college player as well as notable coach and administrator roles. 

A 1953 graduate of Holland High School, he set school records in single-
game points (41), season scoring (617) and career points (830).  He averaged 23.7 points per game his senior season, leading Holland to their first sectional championship and was the state’s leading scorer in the 1953 regionals, totaling 62 points in two games. 

His college career included 858 points in two seasons at Oakland City College (21.5 ppg), setting the school’s season scoring record (541).  His senior year 25.8 point per game average was 2nd best in Indiana, trailing only Hall of Famer Bailey Robertson. 

He coached 18 seasons at Chrisney, Orleans, Princeton, Holland and Southridge high schools, totaling 201 wins and five sectional championships and was an assistant coach for the Southridge 1998 IHSAA 2A girls champion squad. 

Also serving 15 years as the last Principal of Holland High School and first Principal of Southridge High School, he served two terms on the IHSAA Board of Control. 

He died in 2018.

Jerry Reynolds and Ray Roesner join five other Oakland City University alumni as members of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame: C. Eugene Cato, 1952; Joe Todrank, 1961, Herman Keller, 1927; Phil Eskew, Sr. 1929; and Charles McConnell, 1925.

Full list of 2019 Inductees:

  • Bill Berberian, Thornton (IL) (1942)
  • Wally Cox, Broad Ripple (1954)
  • Alan Darner, West Lafayette (OH) (1964)
  • Ted Guzek, Hammond Morton (1954)
  • Mark James, Martinsville (1973)
  • Lyndon Jones, Marion (1987)
  • John Lee, New Castle (1960)
  • Davage Minor, Gary Froebel (1941)
  • Dick Nyers, Indianapolis Manual (1952)
  • Kirby Overman, Carthage (1958)
  • Bob Purkhiser, Bluffton (1961)
  • Jerry Reynolds, Springs Valley (1962)
  • Ray Roesner, Holland (1953)
  • Mark Siegel, Pike (1977)
  • Terry Stotts, Bloomington North (1976)
  • Joe Sutter, Marion (1969)
  • Steve Yoder, Plymouth (1958)

Indiana Pacers Silver Medal

  • Jim Kessler, Northwest (MO) (1966)

Centennial Award

  • Paul White, Franklin (1920)