Richard Lugar’s Legacy Lives On as the Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series Selects its 30th Class

(INDIANAPOLIS) –The Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series is pleased to announce that it has selected its 30th class to train throughout the next year.

“We are grateful to have so many impressive Hoosier women interested in public service and the political process apply for the Lugar Series this year,” said Anne Hathaway, Executive Director of the Lugar Series. “The women selected for the 30th Lugar Series class are from all over the State of Indiana and are already influential leaders in their communities at various capacities. I’m excited to see them grow their skills over the next 12 months and know they will go on to do great things at the local, state, and federal levels upon graduating the Lugar Series.”

Those selected for the 30th Lugar Series class are:

  • Cathy Boggs, Carmel, Hamilton County
  • Elyse Brasseale, Newburgh, Warrick County
  • Cyndi Carrasco, Indianapolis, Marion County
  • Dana Carter, Brownsburg, Hendricks County
  • Jennifer Flater, Clay City, Clay County
  • Deana Haworth, Greenwood, Johnson County
  • Robyn Heine, Zionsville, Boone County
  • Lavinia Herzog, Liberty, Union County
  • Reagan Kurk, Indianapolis, Marion County
  • Amy Lore, Terre Haute, Vigo County
  • Rachel Lott, Fort Wayne, Allen County
  • Janet McClellan, Brazil, Clay County
  • Shelby Myers, Crawfordsville, Montgomery County
  • Julie Olthoff, Crown Point, Lake County
  • Litany Pyle, Veedersburg, Fountain County
  • Holly Robinson, Indianapolis, Marion County
  • Amy Roe, Rochester, Fulton County
  • Erika Steuerwald, Indianapolis, Marion County
  • Noelle Sykes, Indianapolis, Marion County
  • Kimberly Wagner, Fort Wayne, Allen County

Inspired by the late Indiana Senator Richard G. Lugar, the Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series was established in 1990 as a not-for-profit women’s leadership development program designed to increase the preparation, influence, and number of Republican women in local, state and national elective and appointive offices.

The Lugar Series has trained 529 Hoosier women and has produced exceptional new party leaders, public board and commission members, political operatives, and elected officials from mayors and legislators to state executive officeholders. The program model has been replicated to create excellence programs in 18 states and has produced over 2,000 graduates nationwide.

For more information about The Lugar Series, contact Anne Hathaway at or visit