Indiana Department of Education Announces 2018-2019 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching State Finalists

(INDIANAPOLIS) – The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) announced today the 2018-2019 State Finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The six Indiana finalists will now move forward to the national level.

Dr. Kirstin Milks

Locally, Dr. Kirstin Milks, of Bloomington High School South is one of three finalists in the field of science.

“Behind every successful student is a hardworking, supportive, and exceptional teacher,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “Because of the dedication to excellence of Indiana’s finalists, our students are more proficient in the vital subjects of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. I am proud of each and every finalist and honored they call Indiana home.”

The Presidential Awards are the nation’s highest honors bestowed by the United States government for teachers of K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. Since 1983, more than 4,800 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and their profession.

Award recipients serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science education.

In addition, recipients receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a trip to Washington D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation (NSF). NSF administers the awards program on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Indiana finalists underwent a rigorous application process and were selected by a state committee for their outstanding qualifications. All six finalists will participate in an honor and recognition luncheon this fall. Below is a complete list of the 2018-2019 finalists:

Indiana Finalists for Math:
Kelly Day, Westfield Middle School
Angela Snyder, Creekside Middle School
Richard Ziuchovski, Anderson High School
Indiana Finalists for Science:
David Butler, Southern Wells Junior-Senior High School
Sarah A. Chattin, Hamilton Southeastern High School
Kirstin Milks, Bloomington High School South

For more information about the Presidential Awards, please visit: To view a list of past awardees, please visit: