Opportunity Knocks For Farmers Wanting To Serve On Indiana Corn Checkoff Board

(UNDATED) – Hoosier farmers interested in directing Indiana corn checkoff investments can now sign up to run for election to the Indiana Corn Marketing Council (ICMC) board of directors. ICMC manages the state’s corn checkoff investments with the goal of supporting and growing Indiana’s corn industry. Five seats on ICMC’s board of directors are up for re-election in 2019.

“For many years, corn growers in Indiana have benefitted from the volunteer leadership of those who have served on the ICMC board,” said Greentown, Ind., farmer Denny Maple, who is also an at-large member of the ICMC board. “We rely on farmers to fill these leadership positions to help the Indiana corn industry remain strong and effective. New perspectives and ideas will help our corn research and promotion efforts.”
Board members determine the promotional, educational and research activities funded by the corn checkoff. ICMC’s strategic plan focuses on market development, production research and farmer services. Priorities include ethanol, transportation infrastructure, production research, livestock promotion, and international exports.
To run for an ICMC director seat, Indiana corn farmers must be at least 18 years old, a registered Indiana voter and a resident in the appropriate district. All farmers who submit a valid petition by June 30, 2019, will be listed as a candidate on the election ballot. Voting takes place at Purdue Cooperative Extension Service county offices in August 2018.
One seat is open in each of Districts 1, 4 and 7.
Two statewide, at-large seats are also open.
Here is the breakdown of each district:

  • District 1- The counties of Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Starke, Pulaski, Jasper, White, Benton, and Newton.
  • District 4 – The counties of Warren, Tippecanoe, Montgomery, Putnam, Owen, Clay, Vigo, Parke, Vermillion, and Fountain.
  • District 7 – The counties of Sullivan, Greene, Daviess, Martin, Knox, Dubois, Pike, Gibson, Warrick, Spencer, Vanderburgh, and Posey.

Farmers interested in seeking a director position should submit a petition to the ICMC office before June 30, 2019. Farmers can download any necessary forms at www.incorn.org/elections or by calling Chris Weldon at the ICMC office at 1-800-735-0195. Forms are also available at all Purdue County Extension offices.
Newly elected directors will begin a three-year term Oct. 1, 2019. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years. For more information about Indiana Corn Marketing Council, visit www.incorn.org
The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interest of corn growers in the state and manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting farmer directors and seven appointed industry, and government representatives who direct investments of corn checkoff funds on behalf of more than 28,000 Indiana corn farmers. The ICMC is working to build new markets for corn through the promotion of grain marketing, livestock, production research, ethanol, and environmental programs. Learn more at www.incorn.org.
This communication was funded with Indiana corn checkoff dollars.