Sam Schmidt Named Jackson County’s 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar

(SEYMOUR) – A Seymour High School Senior has been selected as Jackson County’s 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Samuel Schmidt.jpg
Samuel Schmidt, the son of Jay and Kim Schmidt, was selected from a group of outstanding applicants from all six high schools in Jackson County and will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of his choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment
Schmidt is considering attending Hanover College or the University of Notre Dame.
Sue Smith, the foundation’s vice president, said with the selection of Schmidt, there are now 38 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars from Jackson County with the first selected in 1998. During the 2019-20 academic year, there will be four Jackson County Lilly Scholars on college campuses throughout the state.
Schmidt was among 112 seniors from six Jackson County high schools to apply for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship this year. Criteria for selection included academic achievement, school and community activities showing a depth of involvement and leadership and employment showing time management and a desire to help oneself.
Additional criteria included advanced placement and honors classes taken in high school, a required essay and some evidence of financial need.
After the foundation’s scholarship committee narrowed the field, finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc., the statewide administrator of the scholarship program, for the final selection of the recipient. Independent Colleges of Indiana is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree-granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.
For information about the Community Foundation of Jackson County or to make a donation, call 812-523-4483.