Local Hoosier companies and individuals honored for workplace safety, health

INDIANA – During the annual Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards event, Indiana Department of Labor Commissioner David Redden recognized four Hoosier companies and seven individuals for exemplary workplace safety practices and advocacy. 

The Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards event was part of the 2024 Indiana Safety and Health Conference and Expo. The annual event is hosted by the Indiana Chamber of Commerce and the Central Indiana Chapter of the American Society of Safety Professionals in partnership with the Indiana Department of Labor’s INSafe division.

Indiana Department of Labor Commissioner David Redden

“Whether spearheading safety and health initiatives or mentoring and supporting new safety efforts, these companies and individuals stand out amongst their peers as deserving of recognition,” said Redden. “Visionaries such as these honorees allow Indiana to continue to pursue and attain historic low injury and illness rates.”

Indiana companies were recognized in education, outreach, partnerships, innovations, and rising stars. The 2024 Governor’s Workplace Safety Award recipients are:

  • Education and Outreach: Kimball International, Jasper, IN
  • Partnerships: ZF Active Safety and Electronics US LLC, Lafayette, IN
  • Innovations: Masterbrand Cabinets LLC, Ferdinand Operations, Ferdinand, IN
  • Rising Star: GE Aerospace Lafayette Engine Facility, Lafayette, IN

The Everyday Safety Hero Award recognized Hoosiers who have championed workplace safety and health excellence in their respective workplaces. Individuals, who may not be safety and health professionals, were nominated by their peers or organizations. Winners were selected based on a narrative provided by their respective nominators.

The 2024 Everyday Safety Hero Award recipients are:

  • Jesse Neese, Yardmaster, Grain Processing Corporation, Washington, IN
  • James Farley, Electrical and Instruments Technician, Grain Processing Corporation, Washington, IN
  • Jenny Waller, Bender Operator, Cardinal IG, Fremont, IN
  • Andy Burnett, Airport Operations Center Communications Manager, Indianapolis Airport Authority, Indianapolis, IN
  • Tyler Conrad, Metal Production Associate, Viewrail – Plant 6, Goshen, IN
  • Professor Kendra Erk, Professor of Materials Engineering, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
  • Shane Hasebly, Building Senior Manager, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

The annual Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards result from a partnership among government, business, and safety leaders, including the Indiana Department of Labor on behalf of Gov. Eric J. Holcomb, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, and the Central Indiana Chapter of the American Society of Safety Engineers.

To learn more about the Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards program, please visit https://www.in.gov/dol/governors-workplace-safety-awards/. For more information about the Indiana Safety and Health Conference, please visit www.insafetyconf.com.