Vacancy Caucus for Monroe County Treasurer scheduled for Saturday, January 20

BLOOMINGTON – Monroe County Treasurer Jessica McClellan formally resigned from her county position, effective January 1, 2024.

Monroe County Treasurer Jessica McClellan

Under the rules of the Indiana Democratic Party and the Indiana Code, the Monroe County Democratic Party will hold a caucus of eligible precinct chairpersons or their proxy representing Monroe County precincts.

The Vacancy Caucus for the Monroe County Treasurer will be held on Saturday, January 20, with a quorum call at 1:00 p.m. in the Monroe County Courthouse Council Chambers.

The Monroe County Democratic Party will contact eligible voting members of the Precinct Committee via certified mail of the caucus as required under law, no later than ten days before the caucus. While only precinct chairpersons or proxies may vote in the caucus, the event will be otherwise open to the public.

The format of this caucus will be:

  1. A quorum call to establish rules and to open voting
  2. A public meeting and candidate forum, where candidates will make statements and answer questions and
  3. An eligible precinct committee person casts a secret ballot for a candidate.
  4. The results will be announced at the public meeting and forum.

For those who wish to seek the position, statements of candidacy and questions may be directed to Secretary Ashley Pirani at

Candidates MUST have filed appropriate paperwork at least 72 hours before the caucus on Wednesday, January 17th at 1:00 p.m.

Candidate statements will be sent via the MCDP Blue Review Distribution List and to caucus participants in the coming weeks.

Direct all other questions on the caucus proceedings and eligibility to MCDP Chair David Henry at