Names released of Bedford officers involved in September 28 shooting

BEDFORD – At the Bedford Board of Works meeting on Monday, four Bedford police officers were placed on administrative leave following involvement in the shooting that resulted in the death of Daymon A. Hubbard last month, on September 28.

The officers placed on leave were:

  • Sergeant Toby Gerkin
  • Officer Clay Blackburn
  • Officer Nick Crulo
  • Officer Brent Thompkins

Sergeant Toby Gerkin is expected to return to work next week since he was not involved in the shooting. The others will be on administrative leave until the conclusion of the Indiana State Police investigation, as well as an internal department investigation.

The investigation of the September 28 shooting is expected to take several more weeks to conclude.

Indiana State Police investigating at the scene. Photo by Bill Raines