BNL’s Leach selected to HBCA All-Star squad

BNL’s Colten Leach has been selected to the HBCA’s West squad.

By Justin Sokeland

BEDFORD – Bedford North Lawrence senior Colten Leach has been selected to compete for the West squad in the Hoosier Basketball Coaches Association’s annual All-Star Classic.

Leach averaged 17.5 points, 9.0 rebounds and 4.2 assists this season. He finished his career with 1,137 points (seventh on the school’s all-time list). His senior season highlights included a career-high 41 points against Mooresville and a career-best 19 rebounds against Jennings County in the sectional at Seymour.

The rest of the West team included Castle’s Wes Aigner, Bloomfield’s Peter Combs, South Spencer’s Cale Donoho, Linton’s Joey Hart and Logan Webb., Evansville Mater Dei’s Blake Herdes, North Daviess’ Jaylen Mullen, Evansville Day’s Tyler Myers, Washington’s Brycen Neidigh, and Bloomington North’s J.Q. Roberts.

The East team will feature New Albany’s Josten Carter, Eastern Pekin’s Jacob Cherry, Greensburg’s Ki Dyer, Columbus North’s Cooper Horn, Providence’s Casey Kaelin, Jennings County’s Owen Law and Keegan Manowitz, Silver Creek’s Kaden Oliver, Batesville’s Cole Pride, Lawrenceburg’s Logan Rohrer, Floyd Central’s Caleb Washington and Connersville’s Josh Williams.

BNL’s Jeff Hein was voted District 1 Coach of the Year after leading the Stars to a 16-7 record. Other honorees included Evansville Harrison’s Nathan Fleenor (District 2), Jennings County’s Josh Land (District 3) and Orleans’ Tom Bradley (District 4).

The game will be played on April 16 at North Daviess.