Rep. Chris May was appointed as chair of the House Local Government Committee

STATEHOUSE – State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) today was appointed to serve as chair of the House Local Government Committee.

Chris May

“Having served 10 years as a Lawrence County commissioner, as well as on boards at the municipal and local levels, I look forward to utilizing my experience to lead this committee,” May said. “I will work to ensure the state continues to maintain strong partnerships with local communities.”

House standing committee appointments are made by the Indiana House Speaker biennially after the November election and are in effect for the duration of members’ two-year terms.

Todd Huston

“I’m excited about the talents and wide range of experience that our chairs will bring to their committees, and I look forward to working closely with each of them,” said House Speaker Todd Huston (R-Fishers). “As we head into the budget session, we have many challenges and opportunities in front of us, and I’m confident in our team’s abilities to vet and pass policies that put Hoosiers first.”

House lawmakers are scheduled to convene at 1:30 p.m. on Jan. 9 for the first day of the 2023 legislative session. Hoosiers can visit to find legislation, view calendars, and watch committee meetings and sessions.

May encourages constituents to visit to sign up to receive e-newsletter updates about what’s happening at the Statehouse throughout the legislative session and beyond.