Committee named to lead dean search for IU’s Hamilton Lugar School

BLOOMINGTON – Indiana University Bloomington’s Provost and Executive Vice President Rahul Shrivastav has appointed a committee to identify candidates for the position of dean at IU’s Hamilton Lugar School of Global & International Studies.

Established in 2012, the Hamilton Lugar School promotes an understanding of contemporary and global issues informed by a deep knowledge of history, culture, and language. The school is ranked No. 1 for the number of foreign languages taught at a college or university in the U.S.; the No. 1 language flagship programs institution in the U.S.; and No. 1 for available foreign language and area studies fellowships. HLS hosts four departments and more than 20 nationally recognized centers and programs. HLS offers nearly 20 undergraduate majors and minors, more than 50 graduate and doctoral opportunities, more than 300 study abroad programs, and 80+ languages. It is home to more area studies institutes recognized by the Department of Education as Title VI National Resource Centers than any other school in the nation.

Nick Cullather, a professor of history and of international studies, and editor of Diplomatic History has served as interim dean at the school since January of 2022.

Indiana University Bloomington’s Provost and Executive Vice President Rahul Shrivastav

“I want to thank Nick Cullather for serving as interim dean during this important transition—and, of course, thanks and appreciation to founding dean Lee Feinstein, without whom we would not likely have reached such levels of success,” Shrivastav said. “Over the past 10 years, the Hamilton Lugar School has emerged as a destination for a leading global education. America’s Role in the World Conference, established in 2015, continues to attract international attention and participation. The school’s national and international partnerships bring our students into close contact with pressing, real-world issues at the highest levels.” Shrivastav also noted the number of interdisciplinary campus partnerships between the school and the Luddy School of Informatics, Computing and Engineering; the Maurer School of Law; and the O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs.

Indiana University O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs Dean Sian Mooney

Siân Mooney, Dean of the O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs, will chair the search committee. The committee includes representatives of faculty, staff, and students at IU Bloomington and IUPUI. In addition to Mooney, they include:

  • Iman Alramadan, Arabic Flagship Program
  • Hussein Banai, Assistant Professor, International Studies
  • Sarah Bauerle Danzman, Assistant Professor, International Studies
  • David Bosco, Associate Professor, International Studies
  • Jamsheed Choksy, Distinguished Professor, Central Eurasian Studies
  • James F. Collins, Senior Fellow at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and Former U. S. Ambassador to Russia
  • Sumit Ganguly, Distinguished Professor, Political Science
  • Leena Hussain, Undergraduate Student, HLS
  • Robert Johnson, Dean’s Advisory Council, IU alumnus (1988)
  • Seung-kyung Kim, Korea Foundation Professor, Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures: Director, Institute for Korean Studies
  • Nica Serena Kousaleos, Senior Lecturer, International Studies
  • Aolan Mi, Graduate Student, HLS
  • Katherine Ntiamoah, US Department of State, IU alumna (2008)
  • Carl Pearson, Associate Director, Center for the Study of the Middle East
  • Sarah Phillips, Professor, Anthropology, Director, Russian & East European Institute
  • Alonso Saldivar, Business Manager, Chinese Flagship Program
  • Steve Vinson, Professor and Chair, Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures

Interim chief of staff Kelly Kish will serve as an ex officio, non-voting member of the committee.

Information: Office of the Provost & Executive Vice President