Commission selects 12 finalists for Court of Appeals second interview

INDIANAPOLIS – The Judicial Nominating Commission interviewed 23 candidates May 13-14 and named 12 finalists for the District 2 opening on the Court of Appeals of Indiana.

The following applicants will be invited to a second round of interviews with the Commission on June 8:

  • Ms. Stephanie K. Bibbs
  • Mr. Stephen R. Creason
  • Hon. Mark K. Dudley
  • Hon. Paul A. Felix
  • Ms. Elizabeth C. Green
  • Mr. Derek R. Molter
  • Hon. Timothy W. Oakes
  • Hon. Brant J. Parry
  • Mr. Patrick W. Price
  • Mr. Zachary J. Stock
  • Hon. Lisa L. Swaim
  • Hon. Heather A. Welch

The vacancy is the result of the retirement of Court of Appeals Judge James S. Kirsch in the Fall 2021.

According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute, the seven-member Judicial Nominating Commission must recruit and select candidates to fill vacancies on Indiana appellate courts.

Applications and photographs of judges and lawyers who were interviewed for the position are available online. The Commission considers applicants’ legal education, writings, reputation in the practice of law, and other pertinent information.

Following the June public interviews (details to be released soon), the Commission will meet in an executive session and then publicly vote to select the three most qualified candidates and submit them to Governor Eric Holcomb, who has 60 days from receiving the list to select Indiana’s next Court of Appeals judge.