Nominating Commission names 5 finalists for St. Joseph County judicial position

ST. JOSEPH – The St. Joseph Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission announced five nominees to fill an upcoming judicial vacancy.

The Commission selected the following nominees:

  • Magistrate Cristal Brisco
  • Magistrate Keith Doi
  • Magistrate Andre Gammage
  • Stephanie Steele
  • Magistrate Julie Verheye

The nominees will be submitted to Governor Eric Holcomb for consideration. Under state law, the Commission must submit to the governor a list of five candidates with written evaluations of each candidate. Upon receiving the list of nominees, Governor Holcomb has 60 days to make an appointment to the St. Joseph Superior Court.

As announced on March 1, a vacancy on the St. Joseph Superior Court will occur on May 31, 2021, when Judge Margot Reagan retires. The Commission indicated applications would be accepted until March 19. The applicant names and the Commission’s interviews of the candidates are confidential according to statute. On April 5, the Commission interviewed candidates and then met in executive session to deliberate and select five finalists.

The Commission consists of five members including Charles Leone, James (Jay) Lewis, Karen Barnett, Joseph Grabill, and Indiana Supreme Court Justice Christopher Goff (chair).