State Higher Ed Commission seeking next Faculty Member

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Commission for Higher Education is accepting applications for the next Faculty Commission Member position now through Friday, April 16, 2021.

The Faculty Nominating Committee will present recommendations to Governor Holcomb, who will make an appointment to the Commission in May.

Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers

“Having strong faculty representation from one of the state’s institutions is important in guiding the Commission in its mission of planning and coordinating the state’s higher education landscape and aligning the needs of students and the state,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We are pleased to have had collaborative, passionate faculty members as part of the Commission in the past and look forward to welcoming another new perspective to our work during the upcoming year.”

Dr. Trent Engbers

Dr. Trent Engbers of the University of Southern Indiana (USI) is the current Faculty Commission Member and was appointed on July 1, 2019. Dr. Engbers is a former Peace Corps volunteer, an experienced college educator, and a nonprofit consultant. He is an Associate Professor of Political Science and Public Administration and Director of the Master of Public Administration program at USI.

“Serving on the Indiana Commission for Higher Education has been a rewarding opportunity to understand higher education from a state level. Throughout my time on the Commission, I’ve had a chance to shape strategic plans for higher education in Indiana and advocate for quality programs in our institutions,” Engbers said. “I encourage my fellow faculty members around the state to apply for the next position and represent faculty with the Commission.”

Faculty Commission Member candidates must hold a full-time teaching, research or other position at a public institution of higher education and reside in Indiana. The faculty member will be responsible to serve as a full voting member of the Commission, which meets approximately 20-25 days out of each year. The faculty member appointment is a two-year commitment beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2023.

Applications will be accepted via email (preferred), mail, express mail, or fax. Candidates must submit applications and a signed agreement to serve by Friday, April 16, 2021.

Visit for more information and to apply.