Nominating Commission names 3 finalists for Allen County judicial position

ALLEN CO. – The Allen Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission announced three nominees to fill an upcoming judicial vacancy.

The Commission selected the following nominees:

  • Magistrate Ashley Hand
  • Magistrate Sherry Hartzler
  • Magistrate Lori Morgan

The three nominees will be submitted to Governor Eric Holcomb for consideration. He will name a Superior Court judge. Under state law, the Commission must submit to the governor a list of three candidates with written evaluations of each candidate. Upon receiving the list of nominees, Governor Holcomb has 60 days in which to make an appointment to the Allen Superior Court.

A vacancy on the Allen Superior Court will occur in May 2021 when Judge Charles F. Pratt retires. In February, the Commission announced applications for the position would be accepted until March 10. Four applicants submitted their names for consideration. On March 15, the Commission publicly interviewed four candidates, and then met in executive session to deliberate and select three finalists.

The Commission was established by the Indiana General Assembly in 1983. It consists of six members including Ben Eisbart, Robert Kruger, Angie Moellering, Dan Palmer, Linda Polley, and Mark Terrell. It is chaired by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven David.