Indiana Department of Education celebrates recertified STEM Schools

Indiana Department of Education

UNDATED – The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) today announced that 88 schools across Indiana are certified as leaders in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM), with seven of these schools earning recertification this year.

Included in the list:

  • Grandview Elementary, Monroe County Community School Corporation
  • Batchelor Middle School, Monroe County Community School Corporation
  • Academy of Science & Entrepreneurship – Monroe County Community School Corporation
  • Unionville Elementary School- Monroe County Community School Corporation
  • Brown County Junior High School – Brown County School Corporation
  • Brooklyn Elementary School, MSD of Martinsville
  • Columbus Signature Academy New Tech High School – Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation
  • Edgewood Intermediate School – Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporation
  • Edgewood Primary School – Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporation
  • Loogootee High School – Loogootee Community School District
  • Medora Elementary, Medora Community School Corporation
  • Orleans Elementary, Orleans Community Schools
Katie Jenner

“The educational demand for jobs in today’s economy is changing,” said Dr. Katie Jenner, Indiana Secretary of Education. “More careers are requiring postsecondary credentials, and more of those credentials are focused around high-demand STEM fields. Indiana’s STEM Certified Schools have demonstrated impressive leadership in integrating critical thinking, problem-solving and innovative STEM-principles across their curriculum, ultimately providing their students a springboard to lifelong success.”

Created in 2015, the STEM Certified Schools program recognizes schools focused on a commitment to teaching STEM disciplines beyond the classroom. STEM Certified Schools exemplify a highly non-traditional approach to education, employing a great deal of inquiry, project-based learning, community engagement, entrepreneurship, student-centered classrooms, integration into humanities and related arts, and out-of-school STEM activities. 

The following is a list of recertified 2021 STEM Certified Schools:

  • Area 31 Career Center, MSD of Wayne Township (Indianapolis)
  • Grandview Elementary School, Monroe County Community School Corporation (Bloomington)
  • Indian Creek Elementary School, MSD of Lawrence Township (Indianapolis)
  • Lafayette Sunnyside Intermediate School, Lafayette School Corporation (Lafayette)
  • Madison STEAM Academy, South Bend Community Schools (South Bend)
  • Maple Crest STEM Middle School, Kokomo School Corporation (Kokomo)
  • New Tech Institute High School, Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation (Evansville)

Prior to their initial certification in 2016, each of these schools completed a rigorous application and review process, which must be repeated every five years to remain certified. IDOE will announce newly-certified schools in May.

View a complete list of Indiana STEM Certified schools here. Schools interested in pursuing STEM Certification can review guidance here.