MCCSC Board Interviews Six Candidates as Board Member for District 5

(BLOOMINGTON) – The Monroe County Community School Corporation Board of School Trustees interviewed six people for the District 5 Board seat.

The recommendation of a person to fill the seat will be made at the regularly scheduled meeting Tuesday, February 23rd. 

You can view the live stream of the interviews here.

Candidates and a brief of each are below.

Steve Hinnefeld – Steve retired in 2019 from Indiana University in the News and Media Office, he was a former education reporter at the Herald Times, and currently teaches a journalism class part-time at IU. Steve’s children attended MCCSC and has grandchildren attending MCCSC. 

Erin Cooperman – Erin has a 5-year-old daughter attending MCCSC. She is a Lecturer at Indiana University School of Public Health and previously directed the AmeriCorps program benefiting MCCSC students and families.

Kathleen Field – Kathleen has two boys in Elementary school at MCCSC, and she is very involved in their school PTO. She is an Attorney at Indiana University Student Legal Services, and a current student of Education Law.

Dr. Lucy Fischman –  Lucy has held several positions in MCCSC, teacher, assistant principal, principal, and current president of the Foundation of Monroe County Community Schools. She is currently an Education Consultant for Indiana University Center on Education and Lifelong Learning. Lucy has two sons that attend MCCSC.

Deborah Myerson – Deborah is an Urban Planner. She has three sons in MCCSC, and has been involved in numerous ways. School PTO, Co-Founder MCCSC PTO Network, Founder/Chair MCCSC Parent-Teacher Advisory Council for Special Education, and School Board Redistricting Committee.

Melanie Davis – Melanie is a current office manager for Pro Bono Indiana, Inc. She has a daughter in MCCSC and has been involved in community organizing and activism work for more than 25 years.