Koch: Communities In Senate District 44 Receive Nearly $3.5 Million In Road-Funding Grants

(STATEHOUSE) — Communities in Senate District 44 will receive nearly $3.5 million to improve roads and bridges through the Community Crossings Matching Grant Program (CCMG), said State Sen. Eric Koch (R-Bedford).

State Sen. Eric Koch (R-Bedford)

The CCMG, established by the Indiana General Assembly in 2016, aims to advance community infrastructure projects, strengthen local transportation networks and improve Indiana’s roads and bridges. Since it was put into place, the program has awarded more than $830 million in state matching funds for local construction projects.

In Senate District 44, the following communities received grants:

·        Bartholomew County received $65,000;

·        Bedford received $418,033.58;

·        Columbus received $1 million;

·        Lawrence County received $1 million;

·        Medora received $179,316.73;

·        Mitchell received $159,131.25; and

·        Monroe County received $616,829.20.

“I’m happy to see several communities in Senate District 44 receive these grants to improve local infrastructure,” Sen. Koch said. “The Community Crossings Matching Grant Program is a great opportunity to complete necessary projects that will be a long-term benefit for cities, towns and counties all over the state. I look forward to seeing the positive impact these projects will have.”

Through the program, the Indiana Department of Transportation matches up to $1 million annually when localities invest in road and bridge repairs. Counties with populations fewer than 50,000 and cities and towns with populations fewer than 10,000 receive a 75%/25% match, while counties with populations of greater than 50,000 and cities and towns with populations of greater than 10,000 receive a 50%/50% match.

To view the full list of communities receiving matching funds in 2020, visit in.gov/indot/2390.htm. The CCMG offers two rounds of applications each year, with the next call for applications occurring in early 2021.

Sen. Koch, chairman of the Senate Utilities Committee, serves Senate District 44, which includes all of parts of Bartholomew, Brown, Jackson, Lawrence and Monroe counties.