Lawrence County Election Officials Certify 2020 Election Results

(LAWRENCE CO.) – The Lawrence County Election board certified this year’s election results during their meeting Friday afternoon.

The results did not change from the final tally reported on election night. Election officials reported only two absentee ballots arrived following the election. One of those ballots was for the election in Lawrence County, Tennessee and was delivered to Bedford by mistake.

A total of 21,320 voters turned out for this year’s election. This was an overall 65.49 percent turnout for this year’s election.

File photo Election 2020
  • Election Day Voters – 6,369
  • Absentee Voters – 3,637
  • Early Voters – 11,314

Straight Party Votes Cast:

  • Republican – 6,371
  • Democratic 1,082
  • Libertarian – 21

Total number votes cast in specific political races in Lawrence County:

  • President and Vice President – 21,071
  • United States Representative District 9 – 20,608
  • Indiana Governor and Lt. Governor – 20,868
  • Indiana State Senator District 44 – 20,557
  • Indiana Representative District 65 – 16,874
  • Lawrence County Commissioner District 2 – 18,876
  • North Lawrence School Board District 4 – Top candidate received 4,414 votes
  • Mitchell Community School Board District 2 – Top candidate received 1,891 votes

This year’s election cost approximately $50,000. Some of these costs may be reimbursed by grant funding.

In the future, Lawrence County Election officials will be reviewing the locations of Voting Centers. By law, Lawrence County has to only provide three voting centers with each voting center able to handle 10,000 voters at each location. There are a total of 32,900 voters registered in Lawrence County.

File photo Needmore Voting Center 2020

The largest turnout at a voting center on Election Day was at Needmore Elementary. Officials say 1,445 voters cast their vote at that location. The second largest turnout was at the Mitchell Community Center with 1,299 voters casting their ballots.

File photo Mitchell Community Center Vote Center 2020

“We like to express our gratitude to all the poll workers and other individuals who helped with this year’s election. They did a wonderful job of making this year’s election successful,” said John Williams Jr. of the Lawrence County Election Board.

The Lawrence County Election Board includes John Williams Jr., Don Robertson, and Billie Tumey.