State Sen. Eric Koch Receives Aviation Indiana’s Senator Of The Year Award

(INDIANAPOLIS) – Aviation Indiana recently announced at its annual conference that State Sen. Eric Koch (R-Bedford) has been awarded Senator of the Year for his work on Senate Enrolled Act 257 during the 2020 legislative session.

“I’m honored to be named Aviation Indiana’s Senator of the Year for 2020,” Sen. Koch said. “Our local airports are important assets and their continued safe operation will be enhanced by this legislation.”

SEA 257 protects Indiana’s airspace from projects having an adverse impact on military operations and readiness. The legislation also allows airports to have a voice in local zoning issues where aviation safety might be negatively impacted.

During the presentation at the conference, held virtually on Oct. 15, Aviation Indiana Executive Director Bart Giesler said, “We appreciate Sen. Koch for introducing SEA 257, but more importantly for making changes that provide even more safety for the flying public. By requiring state and federal agencies to better coordinate on tall structures and by giving airports a voice in zoning cases for other types of safety issues, SEA 257 provides the right balance between development and safety.”

Brian Thompson, president of the Seymour Municipal Airport Authority, also offered his thanks.

“The Airport would like to thank Sen. Koch for his work on SEA 257, which will enhance the safety of all airports. The senator’s contribution to the integrity of aviation will have an impact for many years to come. Thank you Sen. Koch!”

Aviation Indiana has been an advocate for aviation interests since 1983 and represents all regions of Indiana providing a network for general aviation, support industries, aerospace educators, airports, fixed base operators, aircraft owners and operators and pilots at all ratings levels. For more information on Aviation Indiana, click here.

Sen. Koch, Chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee, serves Senate District 44, which includes all or parts of Bartholomew, Brown, Jackson, Lawrence and Monroe counties.