BNL boys finish 18th at Columbus

COLUMBUS – Bedford North Lawrence finished 18th in the powerful 22-team field during the Rick Weinheimer Classic boys cross country race at Columbus North on Saturday morning.

The Stars totaled 520 points. No.1 Columbus North won its own event with 38, followed by No.3 Noblesville (54) and No.9 Floyd Central (93). Five teams currently ranked in the state top 20 competed in the race.

Colton Sons paced BNL, finishing 82nd overall in 17:47.5. Cameron Haste was 96th in 18:03.2, and Cole Baker was 118th in 18:48.4.

“What a fast race across the board,” BNL coach Jonathon Calhoun said. “Seeing two individuals from other teams fight to break 15 minutes was a sight to see. After witnessing that at the start, I knew we were going to have fast times.

“I was excited to see some of the hard work pay off. We kept working on faster feet, increasing our endurance, and training our mental aspect of racing. It showed today by a lot of individuals stepping up.

“We are not where we want to be with placement and times, but we are improving, working hard, and moving in the right direction.”

Whiteland’s Will Jefferson was the individual champion in a blistering 14:59.6.

BNL will compete in the Brown County Classic on Sept. 12.

Rick Weinheimer Classic

Saturday at Columbus North

Boys results

Team scores

Columbus North 38, Noblesville 54, Floyd Central 93, Northview 104, Bloomington North 144, Whiteland 233, Greenfield Central 233, Jennings County 241, Lebanon 283, Austin 295, Southport 299, Tell City 356, Greenwood 368, Martinsville 379, New Albany 393, Evansville North 461, Greensburg 503, BNL 520, Shelbyville 558, Silver Creek 564, Madison 643, Columbus East 653

Top performances – 1. Will Jefferson, Whiteland 14:59.6; 2. Travis Hickner, Noblesville 15:01.8; 3. Reese Kilbarger-stumpff, CN 15:22.1; 4. Austin Pulkowski, CN 15:39.4; 5. Andrew Anderson, Noblesville 15:44.4

BNL – 82. Colton Sons 17:47.5; 96. Cameron Haste 18:03.2; 118. Cole Baker 18:48.4; 124. Brayden Lanham 18:59.3; 154. Max Klein 20:16.0; 159. Zane Thompson 20:29.2; 160. Ryan Wright 20:35.2; 167. Noah Bailey 21:31.4; 173. Brax Huber 22:09.3