Selection Committee Names Nominees For Marion County Judicial Positions

(INDIANAPOLIS) – The Marion County Judicial Selection Committee announced nine nominees to fill three upcoming judicial vacancies. The Committee unanimously selected the following finalists:

For the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Barbara Cook Crawford:

  • Magistrate Marshelle Dawkins Broadwell
  • Magistrate Amber Collins-Gebrehiwet
  • Terrance Tharpe

For the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge David Dreyer:

  • Magistrate Ryan Gardner
  • Magistrate Danielle Gaughan
  • Magistrate Jeffrey Marchal

For the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Marilyn Moores:

  • Magistrate Geoffrey Gaither
  • Magistrate Jason Reyome
  • Commissioner Jennifer Springer

On August 31 – September 2, the Committee publicly interviewed 41 candidates and then met in executive session to deliberate. Under state law, the Committee must submit to the Governor a list of nominees to fill judicial vacancies in Marion County. Upon receiving the list, Governor Holcomb has 60 days in which to make appointments to the Marion County courts.

Three vacancies will occur when the terms for Judges Crawford, Dreyer, and Moores expire on December 31, 2020. The new judges will take office in January 2021.

The 14-member Committee was established by the Indiana General Assembly in 2017 and is chaired by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Mark Massa and Vice-Chair Court of Appeals of Indiana Chief Judge Cale Bradford. Indiana law provides the framework for the duties and membership of the Committee.