Indiana Commission For Higher Education Welcomes Two New Members

Indiana Department of Education

(INDIANAPOLIS) – An executive from Evansville and a junior at Indiana State University (ISU) have been named to the Indiana Commission for Higher Education and two current members of the 14-person higher education coordinating body have been reappointed. Governor Eric J. Holcomb recently announced the appointments.

The Commission’s membership is comprised of one faculty member, one student member, a representative from each of the state’s nine congressional districts and three at-large members.


Pepper Mulherin of Evansville has been appointed to represent the eighth district through June 30, 2023, and replaces outgoing member Alfonso Vidal.

Mulherin is the director of external affairs at AT&T in southern Indiana and joined the company in 1995; she earned undergraduate degrees from the University of Southern Indiana and a master’s of public service administration from the University of Evansville.

She was in the 2014-2015 class of The Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series and is a member of the board of directors. Mulherin also serves on numerous boards in her local community, including the Evansville Rotary Club (past president), Southwest Indiana Chamber, Warrick Chamber of Commerce, Evansville Industrial Foundation and others.

“More and more Hoosiers are working and learning from home today and I look forward to bringing to the Commission my background in communications and technology – particularly experience with broadband availability and technology solutions that can help connect people anywhere they live, work or study,” Mulherin said. “As a lifelong Hoosier, I’m grateful for the opportunity to represent southern Indiana at the state level.”


Anne Bowen of Terre Haute is a junior and an honor student at ISU and will serve on the Commission through June 30, 2022. She replaces outgoing student member Coleen Gabhart and is a full voting member of the Commission.

Bowen is double-majoring in Insurance & Risk Management and Financial Services and is involved with the Networks Professional Development Program and the Gongaware Scholarship program. She holds numerous leadership positions across ISU’s campus and is actively involved with the business fraternity Gamma Iota Sigma, Insurance Honors Corps and the Honor Societies of Alpha Lambda Delta and Order of Omega. 

“I am excited to represent the student voice and dive into the important work the Commission has been involved in for many years,” Bowen said. “I’ve been lucky to have two great internships and a lot of very positive experiences to help prepare me for my life after college. I want to help other students have similar experiences and I believe the work we are doing at the Commission is a good way to accomplish that goal.”

Governor Holcomb also reappointed two Commission members to serve terms through 2024. They are:

  • Dennis Bland of Indianapolis, president of the Center for Leadership Development
  • Dan Peterson of Bloomington, vice president of industry and government affairs for Cook Group, Inc.

Additionally, a new slate of Commission leadership was announced during the Commission’s monthly meeting in August:

  • Chair: Dr. Beverly Pitts (at-large member)
  • Vice Chair: Mike Alley (at-large member)
  • Secretary: Jud Fisher (represents District 6)

“I am pleased to welcome Pepper and Anne to the Commission and look to both of them to bring their unique perspectives and backgrounds to enhance the important work we are doing at a time when it is more important than ever,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “Our new membership and leadership will only serve to strengthen the Commission, which is committed to the mission of strategically aligning the needs of Indiana’s students and the state through a quality postsecondary education system that is equitable, affordable and talent-driven.”

See the full list of Commission members at