Hoosier Hills Credit Union Annual Meeting, Reorganization Meetings

(BEDFORD) – Hoosier Hills Credit Union recently held its Annual Meeting, followed by a separate HHCU Board of Directors and Supervisory Committee reorganization meetings to establish the Credit Union’s volunteer leadership for the coming year.

The Annual Meeting and reorganization meetings were held by teleconference because of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

During the Annual Meeting, HHCU’s $215 million economic impact on its service areas and the Credit Union’s tremendous growth, in general, were highlighted. Hoosier Hills Credit Union registered record net income and the highest dividends ever returned to members in 2019. Contributions to southern Indiana economic development included loans originated in the region, salaries, and benefits for HHCU staff, taxes that were paid, and supplies purchased locally.

At year-end in 2019, HHCU held total assets of $609.3 million, an increase of 9.9% from the previous year. During that same span, deposits grew by 9.2% to $446.3 million, $37.9 million above year-end 2018 total deposits.

Election results were also announced for the HHCU Board of Directors and Supervisory Committee.

Bryan Johnson was elected to continue as a member of the Board for two years, filling the remainder of his term after having been appointed to the Board in January 2019. Sally Gogel Fischer was appointed after William “Bill” Miller retired in 2019. Fischer’s term began on January 1, 2020. Her initial elected term will be for one year.

Director Alan Cummings

Current Directors Alan Cummings, Jennie Edwards. and Leo Meadows were each elected to serve another three-year term on the Board of Directors.

Supervisory Committee member Janie Craig Chenault

For the Supervisory Committee, Janie Craig Chenault was elected to serve a three-year term. She was first appointed in June 2018. Tara Jenkins was elected to fill the one year remaining on her existing seat. Chad Helming of Jasper was appointed as a new member, effective January 1, 2020, to fill an open seat. He was elected to complete the remaining one year of the term for this seat on the Committee.

The Board of Directors conducted its reorganizational meeting later in May. The officers of the Board of Directors were appointed as follows:

• Board Chair, Alan Cummings
• Vice Chair, Keith Wilkinson
• Secretary, Jay Brown
• Treasurer, Leo Meadows
• Director and Immediate Past Chair, Jennie Edwards
• Director, Bryan Johnson
• Director, Sally Gogel Fischer

In the Supervisory Committee reorganization meeting, officers were appointed as follows:

• Supervisory Committee Chair, Janie Craig Chenault
• Supervisory Committee Secretary, Chad Helming
• Member, April Glenn
• Member, Don Brandt
• Member, Tara Jenkins