Hamblen, Stars flip Bull Dogs

BNL’s Reese Hamblen won the deciding match as the Stars clipped Columbus North 39-36 on Thursday night.

BEDFORD – With the team outcome riding on the final match, Reese Hamblen off his knees and powered Bedford North Lawrence to a thrilling victory on Thursday night.

Hamblen scored five points in the final 30 seconds to win his match at 145 pounds, the deciding triumph as the Stars clipped Columbus North 39-36 in the high school wrestling regular-season finale.

With the teams deadlocked at 36-36, Hamblen trailed North’s Liam Phillips 5-3 in the third period. With 30 seconds remaining, Hamblen scored a two-point reversal and added three back points as he flipped Phillips for the go-ahead and match-winning points.

BNL surrendered three forfeits and still found a way to top the Bull Dogs.

“I was not expecting to win with all the points we were giving up,” BNL coach Greg Stevens said. “We followed through and did a great job.”

Christian Brown got the Stars rolling with a pin of Ryan Staley in 3:27 at 182. James Covey continued his impressive season, improving to 28-3 with a pin of Quincy Capps in 2:15 at 220 pounds, and Tristan Hanners hammered down Cody Thurnall in 1:16 at 285.

BNL’s Derek Hutchens stopped Keandre Watson in 1:26 at 132, and that set the stage for the dramatic Hamblen triumph.

The Stars will compete in the sectional at Southridge on Feb. 1. The top four in each weight class will advance to the regional on Feb. 8 at Bloomington South.

BNL 39, Columbus North 36

106 – Zereck Greathouse, CN won by forfeit

113 – Double forfeit

120 – Brax Huber, BNL won by forfeit

126 – Junior Morales, CN p. Hunter Morris

132 – Derek Hutchens, BNL p. Keandre Watson 1:26

138 – Carlos Rodriguez, CN p. Channlor Engleking 1:30

145 – Reese Hamblen, BNL p. Liam Phillips 8-5

152 – Jared Slocum CN won by forfeit

160 – Hector DeDios, CN won by forfeit

170 – Jake Shively, CN p. Drake Huber 3:30

182 – Christian Brown, BNL p. Ryan Staley 3:27

195 – Gunner Connaughton, BNL won by forfeit

220 – James Covey, BNL p. Quincy Capps 2:15

285 – Tristan Hanners, BNL p. Cody Thurnall 1:16