Mitchell Community School Board Elects Officers For New Year

(MITCHELL) – The Mitchell Community School Board elected officers for the new year.

The officers will remain the same as last year.

  • Chris Shaw – President
  • Patrick Redman – Vice – President
  • Crystal Mikels – Secretary
  • Melinda Powell – Treasurer
  • Ruthie Lane – Deputy Treasurer
  • Sonya Chaney – Extra-Curricular Treasurer
  • Kim Powell – Deputy Extra-Curricular Treasurer

School board members are paid a $2,000 stipend, $100 for each regular meeting and $75 for a special meeting and 50 cents per mile.

The Mitchell School Board approved the school calendar for the 2020-2021 school year. The first student day will be August 5, 2020 and the last day for students will be May 21, 2020.

Three E-Learning days were also built into the calendar they include Monday, January 28, 2021, February 15, 2021, and April 23, 2021.

The Mitchell School Board approved a three percent pay increase for all non-certified personnel.

School bus routes for Route 9 and Route 36 have been re-assigned. Donna Kinser resigned as a bus driver for Route 36. Mark Gee will now run that route. Andy Gleitz was hired to drive Route 9.

The following personnel resignations include:

  • Steve Harshman – Mitchell Junior High School Science Teacher effective January 6, 2020.
  • Tori Mullinax – Mitchell High School Office Secretary – Effective January 12, 2020.
  • Donna Kinser – Mitchell Route #36 Bus Driver – Resignation December 20, 2019.


  • Lowell Bailey – Mitchell Junior High School Teacher – Effective January 14, 2020.
  • Kali Wigley – Math Aide at Mitchell Junior High and Mitchell High School.
  • Anita Moore – Math Aide at Mitchell Junior High and Mitchell High School.
  • Andy Gletiz – Route 9 Bus Driver – Effective January 14, 2020.

The next school board meeting will be February 10th, at Mitchell Junior/High School. The school board will tour the facility and then the meeting will take place in the cafeteria. The school board meeting will begin at 5 p.m.

The March meeting will take place at Burris Elementary on March 9th, and the April will be on April 13th at Hatfield Elementary. Both meetings start at 5 p.m.