Indiana Department of Education Announces Recipients of K-12 STEM Acceleration Grants

(INDIANAPOLIS) – The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) announced today the recipients of K-12 Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Acceleration Grants. The awards will allow districts to accelerate, scale, or implement STEM curricula grounded in problem/project-based or inquiry-based pedagogy, and incorporating teacher training and support.

Locally receiving grants are:

  • Mitchell Community Schools
  • Brownstown Central Community School Corporation
  • Salem Community Schools
  • Washington Community Schools

“A STEM education is vital to preparing our students for an ever-changing technological global economy,” said State Superintendent Dr. Jennifer McCormick. “I commend our awarded schools for their commitment to STEM and for their dedication to equipping students with the 21st-century skills necessary to thrive and be successful.”

The Indiana General Assembly appropriated funding in Fiscal Year 2020 to IDOE for STEM Program Alignment. A portion of these funds are to be used to improve elementary and secondary student achievement and participation in STEM subjects throughout Indiana. Additionally, this opportunity will allow schools to expand STEM career exposure for students throughout the K-12 educational continuum.

In an effort to ensure a wide field of STEM practices for research purposes, a variety of awardees implementing various state and nationally recognized curriculum options were selected as grant recipients. IDOE received a total of 77 proposals for the competitive grant, with 33 school districts receiving Indiana’s STEM Acceleration Grant for the first time.

To view of list of 2019 STEM Acceleration Grant Recipients, please visit

For more information on IDOE efforts to increase STEM education across the state, please visit