Saturday Voting Brings Out 210 at Three Voting Centers

(UNDATED) – Saturday was another day for voters to take advantage of early voting.

Between the three voting centers – Lawrence County Courthouse, Emerson Gym in Mitchell, and Oolitic Town Hall – 210 residents cast their votes.

According to the Lawrence County Voter Registration Office, 74 ballots were cast at the courthouse, 52 cast ballots were cast at the Emerson Gym, and 84 ballots were cast at the Oolitic Town Hall.

Jeff Lytton campaigns for Sam Craig Republican candidate For Mayor on Saturday at the Lawrence County Courthouse

Jeff Lytton was the only person campaigning Saturday morning at the Lawrence County Courthouse. Democrat Joey Slone, Mitchell City Council District 3 Candidate, was the sole candidate seen at the Emerson Gym on Saturday.

Joey Slone Mitchell City Council District 3 candidate hands a girl a sucker. He was campaigning in Mitchell at the Emerson Gym on Saturday.

At Oolitic Town Hall two of the Clerk-Treasurer candidates: Republican Jessica Staggs and Citizens Party Glenn Gross were campaigning. Several of the Town Council Candidates which include both the Republican and Citizens Party were out in force campaigning.

Several of the candidates for Oolitic Town seats was campaigning Saturday in front of Oolitic Town Hall

The Republican candidates for perspective offices in Oolitic had to remove their campaign signs because it did not contain the proper disclaimers required by Indiana Election Law. All the candidates removed their signs.

On Tuesday, polls will be open from 6 a.m. until 6 p.m. and WBIW will provide Election Coverage for all three municipal elections.

Contested Races in Bedford:

 Bedford Mayor:

  • Sam Craig  – Republican
  • Rowena Cross- Najafi – Democrat 

Bedford  City Council District 3:

  • Brad Bough – Republican
  • Ed Bay – Independent 

Bedford City Council District 5:

  • Penny May – Republican
  • Clarice A. Guy – Democrat 

Contested Races in Mitchell:

Mitchell Mayor:

  • J.D. England – Republican
  • Eugene Pud Terrell – Democrat

 Mitchell City Council District 1:

  • Michele ‘Wilfong’ Smith – Republican
  • Larry Caudell – Democrat

Mitchell City Council District 2

  • Nathan Jenkins – Republican
  • Kevin Henderson- Independent

Mitchell City Council District 3:

  • Perry Reynolds – Republican
  • Joey D. Slone – Democrat

Mitchell City Council District 4:

  • Daniel Talbot – Republican
  • Everett Ferrell – Democrat

Mitchell City Council At-Large ( vote 1)

  • George James – Republican
  • Martha J. Arnold- Democrat

Contested Races in Oolitic:


  • Jessica Staggs – Republican
  • Glenn Gross – Citizens Party

At-Large Council Seats (Vote 5):

  • Johnny “Bob” Dillion – Republican
  • Phillip Hensley – Republican
  • Tangie Jenkins – Republican
  • Bill Kendall – Republican
  • Dirk Sears – Republican
  • Mary A. Berry – Citizens Party
  • Daniel Brooks – Citizens Party
  • Suzanne Sharp – Citizens Party

On Election Day voters can vote at any voting center in Lawrence County. Polls will be open on November 5th from 6 a.m. until 6 p.m.

The Voting Centers are located at:

  • Lawrence County Courthouse
  • Parkview Intermediate 
  • Stalker Elementary 
  • Mitchell Community Center 
  • Emerson School Gym on 9th Street