Individual Income Tax Rates Change in Four Counties

(INDIANAPOLIS) – Effective October 1, 2019, four Indiana county income tax rates will increase, according to the Indiana Department of Revenue (DOR).

Local income tax rates are determined by county officials and reported to DOR. Once reported, they are then reviewed for compliance with Indiana law. Below are the four counties impacted along with the new tax rates:

  • DeKalb County: 0.0213, increased from 0.02
  • Floyd County: 0.0135, increased from 0.0115
  • Fulton County: 0.0238, increased from 0.0193
  • Vigo County: 0.02, increased from 0.0125

These tax rates affect businesses with employees who live or work in any of these counties and have income tax withholdings. County tax rates for individuals are based on the employee’s Indiana county of residence as of January 1, 2019.

A complete list of current rates for all Indiana counties is available on DOR’s website in Departmental Notice #1 at by clicking on the “Legal Resources” icon, then choosing “Tax Library” and selecting “Departmental Notices.”

Employers with questions about these county income tax rates are encouraged to contact DOR directly at (317) 233-4016, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.